Constructive use of mummy time, Exercise

How much time do you waste a day?

And so I decided to put my time to good use today.

I’ve been rather upset with myself for spending countless hours after the kids sleep, at the iPad. Mostly reading gossip online, or gaming. (And no, thankfully online shopping is not my thing. Maybe not yet.) nothing constructive. And I even justified that by reading articles that encouraged mummies to continue to do so as part of their ME time end of day routine.

I’ve also been rather upset that despite losing quite some weight past few months, I’ve been binging so much that I put back double the pounds. I just couldn’t find the right time, gear, type of exercise for my weak knees, and weather to exercise. Oh yes, you can’t believe how much struggles i have when it comes to exercise. I mean, to many people, it’s lame. But to me, it’s so legit. I hate perspiring in the day and having to shower means wet hair which will take hours to dry, and killing my rebonded hair. (Don’t laugh, I know many of you have this concern too..) my weak knees meant no aerobic type of exercises… I couldn’t manage those squats and lunges I saw in those home-exercise videos, plus I couldn’t bear exercising at home cos you know.. I have neighbors at all directions and I don’t think they like hearing a hippo pounding away on their walls).

After mulling the above two issues, I decided to marry them and solve the problem.

I put on my battle torn Asics, heel rubber all dropped off from the last 3 Macritchie hikes over the past 3 years (record of ONE hike per year…pathetic..) and headed out for my walk-jog-see-snap at 11.15pm today.


I Started out by checking carousel for the iPhone lightning earphones which I only realized I didn’t have them after taking out my 3.5mm jack earphones and trying to locate the jack in my iPhone 7. Ahh.. pathetic again. So, there was a seller just 700m down the road. And I jogged there, paid him a good $20 for USED ear pieces, sterilized it immediately with my alcohol swabs and put on my Spotify. What is a jog without some heavy thumping music to groove you along?!

If you are starting out to jog, let me introduce you two useful apps. First, as mentioned, Spotify. Maybe I’m really techno geek, don’t u dare laugh at me again! I only just discovered Spotify, a wonderful music player that can run in the background, unlike YouTube.


Then, we have runkeeper, an app by Asics. It tracks the map of your run, measures the distance, calories, speed, and frequency of your runs. I liked the calorie part. Very rewarding to see those numbers. I didn’t know I could clock 8km?! (Started the app late)


And lastly, I decided to do a neighborhood scan during my job to satisfy that window shopaholic in me. I checked out the “Chef-in-box food dispensers at blk 302C Anchorvale. Really cool place and I liked that they had eu yang sang! Hahah not bad! Prices are reasonable too! And check out their neat dining area if you choose to dine there. Not bad at all! I didn’t try the food but I think I will Dabao one day to try.

So all those zig zag lines you see on my runkeeper map are really my neighborhood shop scan in action. It’s so woman … shopping, you had me and hello?


By the end of my run, I popped into Ntuc Fairprice at my void deck for that air con to cool down. And did some grocery.

In exchange for 2 hours of sedentary iPad time, I unlocked several achievements:

– spun the most number of pokestops ever (hahaha, bet you didn’t see that coming!)

– bought my iPhone lightning earpods at 11.30pm…

– researched YouTube on unclogging toilet bowl chokes to prepare myself for the battle tomorrow at the workplace toilet bowl

– mapped out some resources in anchorvale area

– burnt 600 calories (I think it’s barely a third of my sinful curry chicken dinner meal…but hey! I won’t ever get that with 2 hours on the iPad on the bed!)

– did grocery shopping for tomorrow

So, what do you think and say about the hours you have wasted? Let’s just hope whichever way we put it to constructive use, we are able to keep up with it.

For now, my hair is about 70% dry, and I’ll go to bed thinking about the new Asics shoes, and Philips $150 hairdryer…and how my legs would ache (or not) in a few hours when I wake up…

Leave a comment